6th grade Book Club

Out of My MindOut of My Mind by Sharon M. Draper
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

My sixth grade advanced readers were assigned this book for an end of the year book club. The teacher graciously invited me to facilitate the group. I have had an absolute blast with this group of girls. It has really enhanced my reading experience with this book to follow their reactions. I have had several 4-6th grade girls read and enjoy this book so I was eager to read with them and discover the buzz.
The storyline is that of a 5th grade girl with severe Cerebral Palsy who also has highly gifted intelligence. In the GT world, we call that “twice-exceptional”. The book is written as if it was an autobiography by this young girl. In many ways it reminded me of “Wonder” (although I think that is a superior book) with the theme being how the world reacts to disabilities.
Although, there were times when we felt the writing was a little simple, the overall result has left a strong impact. The author forces us to a level of self-awareness when it comes to how we respond to others around us. We had some interesting sessions imagining what it would be like to lose all forms of communication. These very bright, articulate girls were strongly affected. Thanks Girls for a great group!!!!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

