School’s Out for Summer!!

Officially there are 2 more days of school. However, I am exercising the rare indulgence of a volunteer and calling yesterday my final day. I finished up most of the projects with classes, cleaned up and packed all my books, and said my bittersweet goodbyes to the graduating 5th grade.
That being said, I have very few excuses to not fulfill my goal of a book-a-day. The main downside of this challenge is that I don’t read fast enough. I have a huge TBR list but most of them are several hundred pages that I won’t finish in one day. I will have to check in with my Nerdy friends to find out how they deal with this. My plan is to have the longer books in progress and a steady supply of picture books to fill in on a day to day basis.
The Witch of Blackbird PondThe Witch of Blackbird Pond by Elizabeth George Speare
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This wonderful Newbery winner truly stands the test of time. It was written in 1958. I don’t even remember if I ever read it as a young person. I do remember that it was a favorite of my oldest son’s. The writing and vocabulary is true to the time period of the late 17th century. I started reading this with 4th grade advanced readers as a guided reading experience. This was definitely a stretch for them but what rich, rich language for them to be exposed to. I suppose it could be said, based on the length of our vocabulary list, that this was not a good fit for them. But we were all pretty hooked. They were baffled by the living conditions of the early American settlers. They were outraged by the intolerance and rigidity of the Puritan society. And they were intrigued by the hint at witchcraft.
Unfortunately, we ran out of time to finish this up together. I knew that this rainy, dreary first morning of summer break I had to finish it!! We were just pages from all the action of the witch trial against Kit. I really hope that they pick up a copy this summer and finish up this story. We were just at the “good part”!!

View all my reviews

3 thoughts on “School’s Out for Summer!!

      • How could I ever forget the fourth grader? He is Unforgettable!! Truth is he was “smarter than a 5th grader” that is why I rounded up to 5th graders.

Leave a Reply

